Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(855) 705-7420

Your independent guide to the best shows in Philadelphia

MERRIAM THEATER

250 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19102

MONTY PYTHON'S SPAMALOT

Ended 20 Jan 2013 after 1 days

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

Spamalot is a hilarious adaptation of Monty Python and the Holy Grail, the 1975 film that is the best-loved and most successful of the Monty Python screen ventures.

Closed 20 Jan 2013

Take a look here to see if Monty Python's Spamalot is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (3.3 Stars):
Email a friend about this .
Number of Reviews: 5
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 5 of 5 reviews
| 1 |

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Absolutely joyful!,
Apr 22, 2012
reviewer: from San Francisco
I saw the original Broadway production, with all of the original cast members, and I can say with out a doubt in my mind that this cast out shines the original BY FAR! Why? Joy. You can see the joy of the experience in the eyes of everyone on stage. They genuinely want to share this experience. They make you laugh, because they truly love being up there - something that is missing from many vetted actors on Broadway. Arthur and his four knights are especially funny! It's amazing how truthful they can make the absurd! Special commendation has to go to Adam Grabau (Lancelot), who is absolutely unrecognizable as each of his different characters - and gives one of the funniest performances I've ever seen in my life!!! Bravo!!! Thank you for such an amazing night!!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Utterly Hilarious!,
Jan 21, 2013
reviewer: from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
I saw Spamalot today, and it was by far the funniest show I've ever seen. The cast was brilliant and my face hurt from laughing so much!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Fun if You're a Python Fan,
Apr 16, 2012
reviewer: from Oakland
Saw this Sunday April 15th 2012. If you found Monty Python's schtick funny, you'll enjoy this. Otherwise you probably won't, because there are a lot of "in jokes" in this musical production. (At least this time the cast can carry a tune, unlike Mamma Mia which was a disaster.) The set was fun, the costumes are great, the cast seems to be enjoying themselves. I'd go again.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
DISAPPOINTING SPAMALOT,
Apr 16, 2012
reviewer: from San Francisco
This was my third time at Spamalot having seen it first on Broadway in 2007 (Fantastic!) and the second time at San Francisco's Golden Gate Theatre in 2009 (Very good!). But this third bus & truck production was tacky and not much fun. It it ever comes back to SF I will pass as I've had it with SpamaLESS!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Spamalot @ TUTS in Houston,
May 20, 2013
reviewer: from Houston, Texas
In summary a second rate production, at best. Let me be specific. The set was well done. Very few of the cast were actually "Good" the rest (Including Arthur) could not hold it together some of the time and visibly out of character the other times. Some cast members simply forgot their lines all together. It was like watching a rehearsal. Act one was ok act 2 an entire waste of our time even for sitting orchestra center. The first time that we felt our money in Houston Theater had gone to waste. Also this "production" appears to be another patronage to our good friends the "members of the tribe". Coming from one. It's quite embarassing. Such a shame to spoil a perfectly good plot with such nonsense of political and religious agenda. Neither is welcome in theatre of this sort. Spring of 21013 Houston TUTs production. The last time this family will patronize such a place.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 1 to 5 of 5 reviews
| 1 |

Please note: The term Merriam Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Merriam Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Merriam Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date